Wednesday, 27 April 2011

Subscribe to Library eNewsletters

If you want to keep up to date with what is new in the library you can subscribe to any of our library eNewsletters. The newsletters are emailed to you bi monthly and highlight some of the new books available in the library, as well as spotlights on authors or special topics. To subscribe just fill in your details in the Join our mailing list box on the right hand side of this page, including selecting which newsletters you would like to receive.


Wednesday, 13 April 2011

A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood

A Single Man is a beautiful book, a touching portrait of a man and in the end a tender affirmation of life. The book follows one day in the life of George, an English professor teaching at a Californian college during the 1960s, whose partner Jim has recently died. We follow the mundane moments of a life; his encounters with students and friends, his angry ranting and his witty conversations. At only 158 pages this is a simple, unassuming book, yet in spite of this, or possible because of it, it is packed with emotion, heartbreak, and even some humour. One of my all time favourite reads.

Check Catalogue


Monday, 4 April 2011

Man Booker International Prize

On the 30th of March the finalists for the 2011 Man Booker International Prize were announced. There was some controversy, as John Le Carre asked to be taken off the shortlist saying that he was flattered, but he didn't compete for prizes.

The prize is a biannual prize given to a living author who either writes in English, or whose work is widely available in English translation. The prize complements the Man Booker Prize for fiction, which is an annual award given to a novel written in English, by a Commonwealth author.

The shortlist for this years Man Booker International Prize includes David Malouf, Rohinton Mistry, Philip Pullman, Philip Roth and more. A complete list is available at the Booker website. The winner will be announced at the Sydney Writer's Festival on 18th May.

Previous prize winners were Ismail Kadare in 2005, Chinua Achebe in 2007 and Alice Munro in 2009.